foodandthefury

Patience and the Palate…

How can a society that exists on instant mashed potatoes, packaged cake mixes, frozen dinners, and instant cameras teach patience to its young?”  ~Paul Sweeney

 As you can see, I am still trying to figure this whole blogging thing out.  What makes it easier for you to read, absorb, and enjoy? What do you find useful (if anything?) What do you find annoying or frustrating? 


I know I promised to share with you my broccoli and tofu “recipe” and I will. One thing I have learned through this experience (attempting to blog) is that, like cooking, there is no real formula. It’s a constant process of tweaking, testing, reworking. And it takes a lot of patience to make something worthwhile. Especially considering how flooded the market is right now out there for both blogs and “foodies”. As much as I hate the term “foodie”, I LOVE that the mystery of the written art and the culinary arts have been redefined and both are more accessible to normal, regular people like me who can stumble through each or both and discover what happens later.


Sometimes that means there are mishaps. Other times, some really unexpected successes.


I’m thinking this because, inspired by a few people, I have been taking an aggressive approach to life recently. Namely, I’m trying to get back in shape, control my eating habits more, and stop making excuses for why I’ve gained 25 whopping lbs since my return from Iraq 6 mos ago…


That’s right, 25 lbs. On me. That’s like what, adding a 2nd grader to your torso?? ugh…


So…expect some really fun low cal, low fat, low carb, high protein, and high flavor foods coming out soon. And to hear some ridiculous stories…


But now for the broccoli and tofu recipe:

I had originally intended to make a coconut milk curry, but unfortunately discovered my coconut milk had been used. So, I decided to make a hoisin-inspired marinating sauce. 


I used: sesame oil, soy sauce, molasses, chopped garlic, lemongrass, cayenne pepper, and sesame seeds.


Combine these together to make a relatively thick sauce. All ingredients you are using have strong flavors, so mine was something like:

  • 1/4 part sesame oil
  • 1/3 part molasses
  • 2/3 part soy sauce

Chopped garlic, cayenne pepper, and lemongrass to taste. 


Once this is made, cube a package of extra firm tofu:

As you can see, I may have done mine out of order and now you are learning how I wish I had done it, haha. (see broccoli floret traitors in the pic)

Add marinade:

Marinating tofu–see the lemongrass?



Then chop the broccoli:

I have no idea why the photo is with garlic and lemongrass. I think to remind me of something. Something I forgot.

While your tofu is marinating, you steam then blanch the broccoli. You will be adding this to the wok, so make sure your cooked broccoli is a bit undercooked to avoid gross mushy food at the end:

Broccoli got blanched

After the broccoli is sufficiently cooled, season your wok with a little sesame oil, put it on medium heat, and add the tofu. You want the pieces to get nice and brown on each side–a lil crispy. 

Once it is sufficiently crisped on the outsides, add the broccoli. The goal is just to get the flavors to meld and reheat the broccoli. Keep adding the marinade, as needed.


In this photo I think you can see what I mean about the tofu pretty well, so I hope that helps.


When you are finished, plate your meal in a warm bowl, and add a sprinkling of sesame seeds.


My dinner looked like this: 



What will yours look like?




***This post has been brought to you by ellipses…there for you when you awkwardly don’t know how to finish a statement 

This entry was published on May 4, 2011 at 11:59 and is filed under broccoli, cayenne pepper, chopped garlic, extra firm tofu, lemongrass, molasses, sesame oil, soy sauce. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Patience and the Palate…

  1. If I may make a layout suggestion – darker text. There's not much contrast between the background and text as it is, and I find myself losing my place on the page.

  2. ooh–good call, Tim, thanks!!

Leave a comment